top of page
  • SA Music

2017 SA Hip Hop Award Winners

Updated: Sep 13, 2022

The 2017 Hip Hop Awards were hosted on Wednesday, 13 December at the Gold Reef City Lyric Theatre. The ceremony celebrated the South African Hip Hop culture from dancers, to musicians, graffiti artists, as well as promoters.

As expected Cassper Nyovest dominated the awards with six wins for Hustler of The Year, Best Male, Most Valuable, Best Music Video, Biggest Milestone, and Album of The Year. There is no doubt that it has been an eventful year for Cassper.

Shane Eagle won the award for Freshman of The Year, after receiving huge support for his debut album ‘Yellow’. What came as a surprise was AKA only winning one award for ‘10 fingers’, his collaboration with Anatii. The Best DJ of the year award was scooped up by DJ Speedsta.

Kwesta received the award for Best Digital Sales: ‘Ngudu’ went 5 times Platinum, ‘Maibabo’ and ‘Nomayini’ went Platinum. Kwesta also took the award for Song of The Year for his collaboration with Thabsie ‘Ngiyazfela Ngawe’.

Newcomer Frank Casino won the award for Best Remix for ‘Whole Thing’ featuring Ricky Rick.

The Honorary Award was awarded to DJ Bionic and DJ Blaze for contributing to the development of the South African Hip Hop Industry and are still active.

Congratulations to all the winners - it has been a great year for the Hip Hop industry and we only hope for growth in the coming year.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page